Early Years

Early Years Curriculum

“From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.” Parents’ Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Early Years consists of Nursery and Reception.

Throughout our Early Years, we follow The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  There are seven areas of learning that shape the EYFS Curriculum. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive Art and Design

All of these areas are equally important and inter-connecting.

Here at Raddlebarn, each area of development is implemented through well planned, meaningful play, consisting of adult-led and child-led activities.

Play is essential in supporting children’s development, building their confidence as they explore and solve problems. Providing well planned experiences that are based on children’s play, both indoors and outdoors, is essential in helping children to learn with enjoyment and enthusiasm.

Observing children during both adult and child led activities helps us to develop an understanding of each child’s achievement, their interests and their learning styles, enabling us to plan future experiences.

It is important to remember that every child is unique and will develop and learn in different ways and different rates.

‘Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.’ Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

 Our ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’ Achievosaurs

 What are the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’?

They run through and underpin the seven areas of learning and development, as detailed in the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage Framework’ (2012). They describe learning processes that occur throughout every day activities and experiences. They also support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

 What are the Achievosaurs?

There are seven Achievosaurs altogether, each linking to an aspect of the characteristics. They enable children to become more aware of how they learn, and give them language to explain the skills they use when learning.

 Explorosaur: I explore everything around me!


 Askaraptor: I ask questions and find things out!


Triatops: I try my best and never give up!


Stickosaurus: I stick at tasks and persevere!


 Solvasaurus Rex: I work hard to solve problems!

Solveasaurus Rex

Thinkodocus: I think carefully about what I learn!


 Shareoynx: I share my ideas and resources!